Drug name
Last update: Oct 2026Developer(s)
Not provided
VH-184 and VH-499 (fremocapavir)
investigational
Small molecule
3rd gen. integrase strand transfer inhibitor (INSTI) + capsid inhibitor (CI)
Investigational, potentially twice-yearly, complete long-acting injectable regimen pairing ViiV Healthcare's third-generation INSTI VH-184 with its capsid inhibitor VH-499 (fremocapavir). Both agents are being developed individually as injectables; ViiV describes VH-184 and VH-499 as potential components of future ultra long-acting treatment regimens, and states that the phase I data will inform its plans for a first INSTI-based twice-yearly regimen, without specifying the partner drug (ViiV press release, 25 Feb 2026). The pairing of the two agents as a single regimen is reported by TAG (Pipeline Report 2026). In phase I studies in adults without HIV, a single injection of VH-184 (formulation B) maintained flat plasma concentrations through month 7, and single IM or SC injections of VH-499 (100 to 1,200 mg) maintained stable concentrations supporting dosing intervals of up to six months. VH-184 retains activity against HIV with second-generation INSTI resistance substitutions in vitro, and VH-499 binds the CPSF6/nucleoporin pocket of the capsid with picomolar potency. No clinical trial co-administering the two agents had been registered a
Investigational. Not approved in any jurisdiction. The combination has not yet entered clinical testing as a regimen; each component is in clinical development (VH-184: oral phase IIb INNOVATE, injectable phase I; VH-499: oral phase IIa CINNAMON completed, injectable phase I, phase IIb CINERGY with cabotegravir not yet recruiting) (last updated 30 September 2026)
Not applicable (no regulatory submission).
Subcutaneous, Intramuscular
not disclosed
Not established for the regimen. VH-499: single IM or SC doses of 100 to 1,200 mg studied in phase I. VH-184: LA formulations A and B (and C, SC) under evaluation
VH-499: 1,200 mg single injection (phase I). VH-184: not publicly reported.
Not provided
Twice-yearly target based on population PK simulations (VH-184 formulation B, Q6M) and flat PK after single VH-499 injections. Dosing will be defined in phase IIb.
Not provided
Not publicly available.
Not publicly available.
Not publicly available.
Not publicly available.
Not provided
Not provided
Not provided
Not provided
Component data only. VH-184 LA (phase I, 39 participants, formulations A and B, SC or IM): injection site reactions mostly grade 1 (erythema, pain, nodules), fewer grade 2, two grade 3 ISRs; safety profile described as similar to marketed INSTIs. VH-499 LA (phase I, 48 participants at 100/200/400 mg IM or SC): AEs mostly grade 1 to 2, injection site pain in 27/36 (75%) VH-499 recipients, ISRs more frequent after SC (83 to 100%) than IM (33 to 83%), median ISR duration 1 to 3 days, no serious AEs, no withdrawals for safety.
No efficacy data for the combination. Component proof of concept: oral VH-184 monotherapy (phase IIa, ART-naive adults, 10/50/300 mg) produced dose-dependent viral load declines, maximum -2.69 log10 copies/mL at 300 mg; oral VH-499 monotherapy (phase IIa CINNAMON) showed potent antiviral activity over 10 days.
Not provided
Not provided
There are either no relevant patents or these were not yet submitted to LAPaL