access-principles-1access-principles-2access-principles-3backcarrierdevelopmentease_of_administrationexportimplantableinjectablenon-implantablenon_carriernon_injectableother_featuresprintroute_of_administrationtherapeutic_areatype_of_tech
Developed by

MPP logo
UOL CELT logo
Supported by

Unitaid logo
Leap logo
Coefficient Giving logo

VH-184 + VH-499


Developer(s)

ViiV Healthcare

Originator
https://viivhealthcare.com/

Drug structure

Placeholder

Placeholder


Drug information

Associated long-acting platforms

not disclosed

Administration route

Subcutaneous, Intramuscular

Therapeutic area(s)

HIV

Use case(s)

Treatment

Use of drug

Ease of administration

Administered by a nurse
Administered by a specialty health worker

Frequency of administration

Every 6 months

User acceptance

Not provided

Dosage

Available dose and strength

Not established for the regimen. VH-499: single IM or SC doses of 100 to 1,200 mg studied in phase I. VH-184: LA formulations A and B (and C, SC) under evaluation

Maximum dose

VH-499: 1,200 mg single injection (phase I). VH-184: not publicly reported.

Recommended dosing regimen

Not provided

Format

Not provided

Additional comments

Twice-yearly target based on population PK simulations (VH-184 formulation B, Q6M) and flat PK after single VH-499 injections. Dosing will be defined in phase IIb.

Dosage link(s)

Not provided


Drug information

Drug's link(s)

Not provided

Generic name

VH-184 and VH-499 (fremocapavir)

Brand name

investigational

Compound type

Small molecule

Drug class/category

INSTI (Integrase Strand Transfer Inhibitor), Capsid inhibitor — 3rd gen. integrase strand transfer inhibitor (INSTI) + capsid inhibitor (CI)

Lifecycle status

Active / In Development (Phase 1/2/3)

Summary

Investigational, potentially twice-yearly, complete long-acting injectable regimen pairing ViiV Healthcare's third-generation INSTI VH-184 with its capsid inhibitor VH-499 (fremocapavir). Both agents are being developed individually as injectables; ViiV describes VH-184 and VH-499 as potential components of future ultra long-acting treatment regimens, and states that the phase I data will inform its plans for a first INSTI-based twice-yearly regimen, without specifying the partner drug (ViiV press release, 25 Feb 2026). The pairing of the two agents as a single regimen is reported by TAG (Pipeline Report 2026). In phase I studies in adults without HIV, a single injection of VH-184 (formulation B) maintained flat plasma concentrations through month 7, and single IM or SC injections of VH-499 (100 to 1,200 mg) maintained stable concentrations supporting dosing intervals of up to six months. VH-184 retains activity against HIV with second-generation INSTI resistance substitutions in vitro, and VH-499 binds the CPSF6/nucleoporin pocket of the capsid with picomolar potency. No clinical trial co-administering the two agents had been registered a

Approval status

Investigational. Not approved in any jurisdiction. The combination has not yet entered clinical testing as a regimen; each component is in clinical development (VH-184: oral phase IIb INNOVATE, injectable phase I; VH-499: oral phase IIa CINNAMON completed, injectable phase I, phase IIb CINERGY with cabotegravir not yet recruiting) (last updated 30 September 2026)

Regulatory authorities

Not applicable (no regulatory submission).

Safety

Component data only. VH-184 LA (phase I, 39 participants, formulations A and B, SC or IM): injection site reactions mostly grade 1 (erythema, pain, nodules), fewer grade 2, two grade 3 ISRs; safety profile described as similar to marketed INSTIs. VH-499 LA (phase I, 48 participants at 100/200/400 mg IM or SC): AEs mostly grade 1 to 2, injection site pain in 27/36 (75%) VH-499 recipients, ISRs more frequent after SC (83 to 100%) than IM (33 to 83%), median ISR duration 1 to 3 days, no serious AEs, no withdrawals for safety.

Efficacy

No efficacy data for the combination. Component proof of concept: oral VH-184 monotherapy (phase IIa, ART-naive adults, 10/50/300 mg) produced dose-dependent viral load declines, maximum -2.69 log10 copies/mL at 300 mg; oral VH-499 monotherapy (phase IIa CINNAMON) showed potent antiviral activity over 10 days.

Evidence Summary

Not provided

Delivery device(s)

Not provided


Scale-up and manufacturing prospects

Scale-up prospects

Not publicly available.

Tentative equipment list for manufacturing

Not publicly available.

Manufacturing

Not publicly available.

Specific analytical instrument required for characterization of formulation

Not publicly available.


Clinical trials

Not provided

Excipients

Proprietary excipients used

Not provided

Novel excipients or existing excipients at a concentration above Inactive Ingredients Database (IID) for the specified route of administration

Not provided

Residual solvents used

Not provided


Patent info

There are either no relevant patents or these were not yet submitted to LAPaL


Supporting material

Publications

The Antiretroviral Therapy Pipeline 2026. Treatment Action Group Pipeline Report, August 2026.

Jefferys R. — Treatment Action Group Pipeline Report, — 2026-08-15

Jefferys R. The Antiretroviral Therapy Pipeline 2026. Treatment Action Group Pipeline Report, August 2026.

Additional documents

No documents were uploaded

Useful links


Additional information

Not provided